# IN CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 21-5156 FOR THE PURPOSE OF APPOINTING TWO NEW MEMBERS AND REAPPOINTING FIVE MEMBERS OF THE METRO AFFORDABLE HOUSING BOND COMMUNITY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

Date: January 19, 2021 Prepared by: Emily Lieb

Department: Planning & Development

Meeting date: January 28, 2021

## **ISSUE STATEMENT**

In January 2019, Metro Council established and appointed the Metro Affordable Housing Bond Community Oversight Committee, charged with providing independent and transparent oversight of affordable housing bond implementation.

Metro Council Ordinance No. 19-1430, which established the Oversight Committee, states that the Committee will be composed of no fewer than 7 and no more than 15 members, to be appointed by the Metro Council President subject to Metro Council confirmation. The Committee's members must represent a diversity of perspectives, geographic familiarity, demographics, and technical expertise, including finance, housing development, housing policy, and experience working with impacted communities.

In January 2019, the Metro Council President worked with Metro councilors and staff to identify 13 appointees who would represent the region and bring diverse expertise to the role. In order to ensure staggered committee terms, two of those 13 members were initially appointed for a two-year term, with the potential for up to two additional two-year terms, five of those 13 members were initially appointed for a two-year term, with the potential for one additional two-year term.

Since the original appointment, three of the original committee members (Shannon Singleton, Serena Cruz, and Manuel Castaneda) have stepped down.

Resolution No. 21-5156 reappoints five members and appoints two new members to serve two-year terms on the Community Oversight Committee.

Metro staff have confirmed interest and availability of the following Oversight Committee members to be reappointed to serve for an additional term of two years:

- Steve Rudman
- Melissa Erlbaum
- Mitch Hornecker
- Mesha Jones
- Andrew Tull

In January, staff worked with the Council office to identify and confirm availability of two new members:

- Nicole Stingh
- Juan Ugarte Ahumada

The following Committee members will also continue to serve and have terms that continue through January 2022:

- Dr. Steven Holt
- Jenny Lee
- Ed McNamara
- Bandana Shrestha
- Tia Vonil

# **ACTION REQUESTED**

Adopt Resolution No. 21-5156, reappointing five members and appointing two new members to the Housing Bond Community Oversight Committee

#### **IDENTIFIED POLICY OUTCOMES**

The Community Oversight Committee performs the following duties as charged by the Metro Council:

- Reviewing local implementation strategies for alignment with the expectations set forth in the Housing Bond Program Work Plan;
- Monitoring program expenditures and outcomes and providing an annual report and presentation to Metro Council;
- Recommending changes to implementation strategies as necessary to achieve Unit Production Targets and other priority outcomes, such as advancing racial equity.

### STRATEGIC CONTEXT & FRAMING COUNCIL DISCUSSION

The proposed Resolution is based on numerous policies previously adopted by the Metro Council, including but not limited to:

- Ordinance No. 19-1430 amending Metro Code Chapter 2.19 to establish the Community Oversight Committee, and describing the committee makeup, terms and charge
- Resolution No. 19-4957 confirming 13 members and co-chairpersons initially appointed by the Council President to serve on the Affordable Housing Bond Community Oversight Committee

# **ATTACHMENTS**

None