BEFORE THE METRO COUNCIL

FOR THE PURPOSE OF ACCEPTING THE MAY)	RESOLUTION NO. 22-5276
17, 2022 PRIMARY ELECTION ABSTRACT OF)	
VOTES FOR METRO)	Metro Attorney Carrie MacLaren in
)	concurrence with Council President
)	Lynn Peterson

WHEREAS, the State of Oregon held a primary election on May 17, 2022; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to ORS chapter 268, the following candidates for Metro appeared on the primary election ballot in accordance with ORS Chapter 249:

- 1. Metro Council President
- 2. Metro Councilor, Sub District 1
- 3. Metro Councilor, Sub District 2
- 4. Metro Councilor, Sub District 4
- 5. Metro Councilor, Sub District 6
- 6. Metro Auditor; and

WHEREAS, ORS 255.295 requires that the Multnomah County Director of Elections canvass the official abstract of votes cast for members of the Metro Council and for the Metro Auditor, deliver the official abstract of votes to Metro for acceptance and determination of qualification, and issue certificates of election to the winners; and

WHEREAS, the Metro Charter, Chapter V, section 19 sets forth the qualification criteria for Metro Councilors and the Metro Auditor and provides that the Metro Council "is the judge of the election and qualification of its members"; and

WHEREAS, the Metro Charter, Chapter VI, section 29(1) further provides that "if one candidate for a Metro office receives a majority of the votes cast at the primary election for all candidates for that office, that candidate is elected. If no candidate receives a majority of the votes cast at the primary election, the candidates receiving the two largest numbers of votes cast for the office are the only names to appear on the general election ballot that year as candidates for that office"; and

WHEREAS, the abstract of votes and regional results of the primary election for the Metro area were received by the Metro Council on June 14, 2022, and are attached to this Resolution as Exhibit A; and

WHEREAS, the Metro Council finds that each of the five candidates who received a majority of votes cast at the primary election is qualified to serve as a Metro Councilor pursuant to the terms and conditions of the Metro Charter; and

WHEREAS, the Metro Council finds that the candidate who received a majority of votes cast at the primary election for Metro Auditor is qualified to serve as the Metro Auditor pursuant to the terms and conditions of the Metro Charter; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Metro Council hereby accepts the results of the abstract of votes for the May 17, 2022 primary election, attached as Exhibit A to this Resolution; and
- 2. That the voters of the Metro Area have elected Lynn Peterson for the position of Metro President, for a four-year term commencing on the 1st Monday of January 2023 and ending on the 1st Monday of January 2027; and
- 3. That the voters of the Metro Area, Sub District 1, have elected Ashton Simpson for the position of Metro Councilor, for a four-year term commencing on the 1st Monday of January 2023 and ending on the 1st Monday of January 2027; and
- 4. That the voters of the Metro Area, Sub District 2, have elected Christine Lewis for the position of Metro Councilor, for a four-year term commencing on the 1st Monday of January 2023 and ending on the 1st Monday of January 2027; and
- 5. That the voters of the Metro Area, Sub District 4, have elected Juan Carlos González for the position of Metro Councilor, for a four-year term commencing on the 1st Monday of January 2023 and ending on the 1st Monday of January 2027; and
- 6. That the voters of the Metro Area, Sub District 6, have elected Duncan Hwang for the position of Metro Councilor, for the remaining two years of the original four-year term commencing on the 1st Monday of January 2023 and ending on the 1st Monday of January 2025; and
- 7. That the voters of the Metro Area have elected Brian Evans for the position of Metro Auditor, for a four-year term commencing on the 1st Monday of January 2023 and ending on the 1st Monday of January 2027; and
- 8. That the Metro Council authorizes Metro Council President Peterson to sign the County Elections Division statement attached to this Resolution as Exhibit B instructing the County elections officer to issue certificates of election to the above persons.

ADOPTED by the Metro Council this day of June, 2022.

	Lynn Peterson, Council President	
Approved as to Form:		
••		
	<u></u>	
Carrie MacLaren, Metro Attorney		