IN CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION NO. 22-5242 FOR THE PURPOSE OF APPOINTING SEVEN NEW MEMBERS TO THE METRO AFFORDABLE HOUSING BOND COMMUNITY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

Date: January 6, 2022 Prepared by: Emily Lieb

Department: Planning & Development

Meeting date: January 27, 2022

ISSUE STATEMENT

In January 2019, Metro Council established and appointed the Metro Affordable Housing Bond Community Oversight Committee, charged with providing independent and transparent oversight of affordable housing bond implementation.

Metro Council Ordinance No. 19-1430, which established the Oversight Committee, states that the Committee will be composed of no fewer than 7 and no more than 15 members, to be appointed by the Metro Council President subject to Metro Council confirmation. The Committee's members must represent a diversity of perspectives, geographic familiarity, demographics, and technical expertise, including finance, housing development, housing policy, and experience working with impacted communities.

Current and past committee members

In January 2019, the Metro Council President worked with Metro councilors and staff to identify 13 appointees who would represent the region and bring diverse expertise to the role. In 2019, one member stepped down (Shannon Singleton), in 2020, two of the original committee members (Serena Cruz, and Manuel Castaneda) stepped down, and in 2021, four more members (Ed McNamara, Bandana Shrestha, Dr. Steven Holt, and Andrew Tull) stepped down. In January 2021, two new members (Juan Ugarte Ahumada and Nicole Stingh) were appointed to ensure representation of people who lived/worked in Washington County.

Below is a summary of current members and their terms.

Committee members	Appointment	Final term ends
Jenny Lee, Co-	Appointed to a two-year year term in 2019;	January 2023
Chair	stepped into Co-Chair role when Shannon	
	Singleton stepped down in 2019.	
Melissa Erlbaum	Appointed to a two-year year term in 2019;	January 2023
	reappointed in 2021 for an additional term.	
Mesha Jones	Appointed to a two-year year term in 2019;	January 2023
	reappointed in 2021 for an additional term.	

Mitch Hornecker	Appointed to a two-year year term in 2019; reappointed in 2021 for an additional term.	January 2023
Steve Rudman, Co- Chair	Appointed 2019 to a two-year term; reappointed in 2021; eligible to be reappointed for a third two-year term in January 2023.	January 2025
Tia Vonil	Appointed to a two-year year term in 2019; reappointed in 2021 for an additional term.	January 2023
Nicole Stingh	Appointed 2021 to a two-year term; eligible to reappointed in 2023 for an additional two-year term	January 2025
Juan Ugarte Ahumada	Appointed 2021 to a two-year term; eligible to reappointed in 2023 for an additional two-year term	January 2025

December 2021 recruitment and evaluation

Based on a survey of current committee members and evaluation of current perspectives/expertise on the committee, staff identified several priorities for the current recruitment, in addition to collective demographic diversity:

- People with lived experience with homelessness or living in affordable housing
- People who are Black, Indigenous or other persons of color, or from another oppressed group
- People with technical expertise in housing development and affordable housing finance
- People who live or work in Clackamas or Washington counties

The application was open from December 6 through December 23, and the recruitment was announced via housing interested parties email list (audience approximately 1500 people), social media (twice, on three platforms), LinkedIn and via extensive outreach to jurisdiction and community-based organization partners and current oversight committee members.

We received 29 applications representing a diversity of professional and lived experience, geographic familiarity, and demographics. Candidates were evaluated for individual experience and expertise and the pool of recommended candidates was evaluated for demographic diversity.

New member appointments

Resolution No. 22-5242 appoints seven new members to the Oversight Committee. In accordance with Metro Code Section 2.19.030(c), each of the seven new members will serve for a two-year term, with potential for one additional two-year term:

- Andrea Sanchez
- Brandon Culbertson
- Karen Shawcross

- Mara Romero
- Ann Leenstra
- Kira Cador
- Trinh Tran

ACTION REQUESTED

Adopt Resolution No. 22-5242, appointing seven new members to the Housing Bond Community Oversight Committee

IDENTIFIED POLICY OUTCOMES

The Community Oversight Committee performs the following duties as charged by the Metro Council:

- Reviewing local implementation strategies for alignment with the expectations set forth in the Housing Bond Program Work Plan;
- Monitoring program expenditures and outcomes and providing an annual report and presentation to Metro Council;
- Recommending changes to implementation strategies as necessary to achieve Unit Production Targets and other priority outcomes, such as advancing racial equity.

STRATEGIC CONTEXT & FRAMING COUNCIL DISCUSSION

The proposed Resolution is based on numerous policies previously adopted by the Metro Council, including but not limited to:

- Ordinance No. 19-1430 amending Metro Code Chapter 2.19 to establish the Community Oversight Committee, and describing the committee makeup, terms and charge
- Resolution No. 19-4957 confirming 13 members and co-chairpersons initially appointed by the Council President to serve on the Affordable Housing Bond Community Oversight Committee