MEMO



Date: March 2025

To: Joint Policy Advisory Committee on Transportation and Interested Parties

From: Ted Leybold, Transportation Policy Director

Subject: Transit service provider representation at JPACT

Background:

At the December JPACT meeting, testimony was provided by staff of the South Metro Area Regional Transit (SMART) agency requesting direct representation of small transit service providers on JPACT. Similar comments have been submitted to the public comment opportunity provided by the US Department of Transportation regarding the certification of the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) process for the Portland metropolitan region. These comments are expected to be addressed by the USDOT in their response to comments and in their findings of compliance with federal MPO regulations later this spring and JPACT will be briefed on these findings.

This memorandum is to provide a description specifically related to JPACT membership and representation of transit service providers so that JPACT members may have a broader understanding of the context of this comment.

Transit Service Provider Representation:

JPACT representation is defined in the JPACT bylaws. The relevant JPACT bylaw language regarding representation of transit service providers states the following:

Section 2. Appointment of Members and Alternates

Subsection b. The Clackamas County seat shall represent the regional transit service providers Sandy Area Metro (SAM), South Clackamas Transit District (SCTD) or City of Molalla, and Canby Area Transit (CAT) that provide services within the MPO boundary.

The member and alternate will periodically consult with the appropriate transportation coordinating committees for their area. The Cities of Clackamas County seat represents the City of Wilsonville, which as the governing body represents South Metro Area Rapid Transit (SMART).

Subsection d. As the regional transit representative, TriMet will periodically coordinate with the South Metro Area Regional Transit (SMART).

Subsection f. Members and alternates from the State of Washington will be either elected officials or principal staff representatives from Clark County, the City of Vancouver, the Washington Department of Transportation, the Southwest Washington Regional Transportation Council and C-TRAN. The members will be nominated by Clark County, the City of Vancouver, the Washington Department of Transportation and C-TRAN and will serve until removed by the nominating agency. The three Washington State members will be selected by the Southwest Washington Regional Transportation Council.